The 21st IASTED International Conference on
Parallel and Distributed Computing and Systems
PDCS 2009

November 2 – 4, 2009
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA


Abstract MAC Layers

Dr. Nancy Lynch
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA







Tutorial Materials


Target Audience


Background Knowledge Expected of the Participants


Biography of the Keynote Speaker

Keynote Speaker Portrait

Nancy Lynch is the NEC Professor of Software Science and Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT. She heads the Theory of Distributed Systems research group in MIT’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory. Prior to joining MIT in 1981, she served on the mathematics faculty at Tufts University, the University of Southern California, and Florida International University, and then on the information and computer science faculty at Georgia Tech. She received her B.S. degree in mathematics from Brooklyn College in 1968, and her PhD in mathematics from MIT in 1972.
Lynch has written numerous research articles about distributed algorithms and impossibility results, and about formal modeling and verification of distributed systems. Her best-known research contribution is the “FLP” impossibility result for distributed consensus in the presence of process failures, developed with Fischer and Paterson; their paper, entitled “Impossibility of Distributed Consensus with One Faulty Process” won the 2001 Dijkstra Prize (also known as the PODC Influential Paper Award). A subsequent paper with Dwork and Stockmeyer, entitled “Consensus in the Presence of Partial Synchrony”, presented an approach to circumventing the FLP impossibility result; this won the 2007 Dijkstra Prize. Lynch’s other well-known research contributions include the I/O automata mathematical system modeling frameworks, with Tuttle, Vaandrager, Segala, and Kaynar. Her recent work is focused on algorithms for mobile ad hoc networks.
Lynch has written three books: on “Atomic Transactions” (with Merritt, Weihl, and Fekete), on “Distributed Algorithms”, and on “The Theory of Timed I/O Automata” (with Kaynar, Segala, and Vaandrager). She is an ACM Fellow, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a co-winner of the first van Wijngaarden prize (2006), and the winner of the 2007 Knuth Prize and the 2009 IEEE Piore Award.